$5 Recipe Using Leftover Wine

I’m writing this post with thoughts of The Nonconsumer Advocate–since I began this blog I’ve noticed a steady flow of readers coming over from that site.  The Nonconsumer Advocate is a great blog written by Katy Wolk-Stanley, chronicling her life as an avid environmentalist and frugal mom.  It’s one of my favorites.

Here is a photo of the meal I had tonight: sauteed beet greens, Manhattan clam chowder, and California Pinot Noir.  Forgive the photo–my phone is five years old (now that’s keepin’ it real as a nonconsumer :)).

image-19
My simple summer dinner.

I wanted to share my recipe for the soup–it requires only an onion, two cans of stuff, whatever seasoning, and leftover wine.  Besides the wine (which you would have thrown away anyway), the ingredients should not cost more than $5.  It takes 20 to 30 minutes.

2 tbsp. olive or vegetable oil

1/2 onion, chopped

10 oz. can of clams

15 oz. can diced tomatoes (pref. petite diced)

1/2 cup leftover wine (red or white)

salt and pepper

seasoning of choice

1. Sautee the onion in oil over med. heat until transluscent. Add in a few grinds of pepper and a couple of pinches of salt while cooking. Add a bay leaf if you have it, and the seasonings you want.  (I guess this requires you have some experience cooking.)  I added about 1/2 tsp coriander seeds (availalbe at an Indian grocery), which gave it a nice brightness, a few black peppercorns, and 1/2 tsp. to 1 tsp. tarragon.

2. Add the can of clams and tomatoes, with juice, and wine.  Cook over med. heat for 3-5 minutes. (November 2015: I’m updating this post, since I’ve now made the recipe a couple of times.  You should not add the clams until after this step, more like when you only have 5 minutes left of cook time.  Otherwise they get rubbery.  However, you can add the clam juice now.)

3. Reduce to simmer and cook 5-10 min. more, covered.  Adjust seasonings to taste.  Remove bay leaf and serve.

–Carol

Leave a Reply

