On #Black Lives Matter

89eec1a58f0464d6cb6473f35400def5

I’ve been thinking about whether or not to write anything about this, because it feels sort of silly as a white person–on the other hand, it seems worse to let it go.

A blogger in a Facebook group recently encouraged the rest of us to use our voices for activism and I couldn’t agree more.

This issue is controversial and my friends vary between BLM sympathizers and opposers.  While the death of the cops in Dallas saddened me, I am more saddened by the hundreds of innocent young men and women who have been beaten up or killed while doing nothing to provoke it.

I don’t want to add a lot of opinion, we know it’s sad and wrong.  What I do want to do is tell you I wrote to my government officials–mayor and senators, asking for better laws and accountability for police practices.  I’d like to encourage you to do the same.

It’s a small contribution, but it’s something.

There are a number of other ways to help end violence against underprivileged people.  I thought Teen Vogue did an awesome job of detailing it in this article.

-Carol

4 thoughts on “On #Black Lives Matter

  1. I can’t say it enough, All Lives Matter. No matter what you are “labeled”, they all matter. The one thing we have to remember is, the media encourages a lot of controversy. If we are not present at the act of violence, we (as bystanders) can only believe in what the media shows us. However, they don’t always show the “whole” picture nor the whole truth. If our Leaders would start promoting more Unity than segregation, maybe the media would follow example. Maybe then we can all become the American’s we’re supposed to be. I believe, it has to start at the top.

    Great read, thanks for sharing.

    1. Hi Bren, thanks for commenting. I choose to say “black lives matter” because of the big problem that black people face. But I agree, that brown and white people also matter when they are faced with unfair or brutal treatment by police.
      I don’t think all police are bad, only that there is a problem with some particularly aggressive police that needs to stop.
      I do believe that most people, including cops and BLM activists, want unity. It’s unfortunate that the shooter in Dallas took it to violence.

Leave a Reply

